Simply Magnificat

Sunday, April 24, 2016 at 3:00 p.m.
National Presbyterian Church, Washington DC
Buy Tickets
  • Dietrich Buxtehude (ca.1637-1707): Magnificat in D, BuxWV Anh. 1
  • Johann Friedrich Fasch (1688-1758): Magnificat in G
  • Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767): Magnificat in C, TVW 9:17
  • J.S. Bach (1685-1750): Magnificat in D, BWV 243
Matthew Loyal Smith Tenor

Matthew Loyal Smith

 One of the most ancient hymns of the church, the Magnificat or Canticle of Mary has captured the imagination of great composers since medieval times. In our final concert we present Bach’s festive setting of this text, composed during his first season in Leipzig, alongside three other superb settings by his contemporaries.

Robin Beckman, soprano
Laura Choi Stuart, soprano
Kristen Dubenion-Smith, mezzo-soprano
Matthew Loyal Smith, tenor
Richard Giarusso, bass
Steven Combs, bass

Admission includes Talking Bach a pre-concert lecture at 2 p.m. by Dr. Michael Marissen and a post-concert reception immediately following the concert.

This program will run approximately 110 minutes including intermission.